I Want Nougaty Goodness! Are 3 Musketeers Gluten-Free?

gluten-free-3-musketeers-bars

Mmmm, give me some delicious whipped chocolate nougat inside a creamy coat of chocolate! 3 Musketeers brand is owned by Mars Incorporated. Mars owns uber-popular candy brands including M&Ms, Snickers, and Twix. If you've found this page, you're probably wondering "Are 3 Musketeers gluten-free?" Based on the ingredients at the time of this article, all 3 Musketeers varieties are gluten-free. Read on for 3 Musketeers products, ingredients, and their impressive stance on product labeling.

Note: The manufacturing information is not on the product label or the 3 Musketeers / Mars website. I've contacted them for clarification. In addition to being gluten-free, if you have other food allergies/intolerances, be aware that some 3 Musketeers contains milk, egg, and soy products. They may also contain peanuts.

MARS 3 MUSKETEERS GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCTS

3 MUSKETEERS BAR
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

3 MUSKETEERS TO-GO
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

3 MUSKETEERS MINIS
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

3 MUSKETEERS FUN SIZE
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

3 MUSKETEERS SINGLES 6 PACK
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

3 MUSKETEERS FUN SIZE
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

3 MUSKETEERS UNWRAPPED BITES SHARING SIZE
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors. Product Is Kosher. Allergen Information: Contains Milk, Egg, And Soy Products. May Contain Peanuts.

3 MUSKETEERS UNWRAPPED BITES STAND UP POUCH
Ingredient Declaration:
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin), Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil And/Or Palm Oil, Less Than 2% - Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Salt, Egg Whites, Artificial And Natural Flavors. Product Is Kosher. Allergen Information: Contains Milk, Egg, And Soy Products. May Contain Peanuts.

View all 3 Musketeers products here.


MARS 3 MUSKETEERS POLICY ON ALLERGEN LABELING

From Mars website at the time of this post

For more information visit the Mars, Incorporated Policy on Allergen Labeling
Mars, Incorporated
Policy on Allergen Labeling

At Mars, we take food allergies very seriously because they affect our consumers. We have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating our ingredients and validating our cleaning procedures.

In order to avoid an allergic reaction to food, we know you must avoid the allergen. To do so, you count on the ingredient statements on food labels to be truthful and accurate. We want you to be able to trust the information on our labels. At Mars, our goal is to provide safe, high quality food products for our consumers. Therefore, we have developed strict rules about the labeling of allergens on our products.

Our allergen labeling policy consists of two parts:

I. Labeling of allergens that are part of the recipe:

1) We will always declare the presence of any of the top allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, soy, wheat, fish and crustacean shellfish) whenever they are part of the recipe regardless of the source (e.g., flavors, spices, colors, other minor ingredients, etc.).*
2) We label these allergens in commonly understood terms at least once within the ingredient listing (e.g., casein (milk)

II. Use of “May Contain <allergen>” labeling:

It is our company policy that if the protein from any one of the top eight allergens* were to be unintentionally transferred from one product/ingredient to another then we would clearly indicate this in a statement just below the ingredient declaration ("Allergy Information: May Contain <allergen>"). To be clear, we use the “May Contain <allergen>” statement when:

We have used all reasonable means to eliminate the allergen cross contact; and
We have documented proof that, despite our best cleaning efforts, allergen cross contact still exists.
Position of Allergen Advisory Labeling Statements:

The primary source of information for consumers about the allergen status of our products is the wrapper in which the product is sold. Our company guidelines state that when an allergen advisory statement is required it will:

• Appear below/adjacent to the ingredient declaration
• Not be obscured by the package (e.g., folds, label overlap, crimps)
• Be clearly legible

Always Read the Label
The label is the best source in determining what is in the product. The ingredient listing and allergen statement provide information on ingredients that may be of concern to you.

If you would like additional information we are pleased to provide a toll-free number on all of our product packages. You may also contact Consumer Care at 1 (800) 627-7852.

For general information about food allergies, please visit the website of the Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE): www.foodallergy.org

* The top 8 allergenic foods responsible for greater than 90 % of the adverse reactions in the U.S. are: milk, eggs, fish (e.g., bass, flounder, cod), crustacean shellfish (e.g., crab, lobster, shrimp), tree nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, pecans), peanuts, wheat, and soybeans.
Source: FDA website www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/alrgact.html

Worried about gluten in candy? Check out these posts on what to avoid.

Crazy Candy Confusion – Are Gummy Worms Gluten-Free?
Nobody likes me,Everybody hates me,Guess I'll go eat worms.Does anyone remember this disturbing children's song?But more importantly, let's talk about[...]
Are SweeTarts Gluten-Free? Beware – Not All of Them!
Those sweet and tart SweeTARTS is owned by Ferrara Candy Company located in Illinois. Ferrara owns 39 candy brands including[...]
Tags:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.