Are Atomic Fireballs gluten-free? Yes - Atomic Fireballs are gluten-free and are clearly labeled gluten-free on the packaging. I contacted Ferrara Candy Company's Customer Service to find out which of their candy products are safe for those of us with Celiac Disease, gluten-intolerance, or non-Celiac gluten sensitivity. Read on for the facts on these mouthwatering fiery spheres.
Thank you for contacting Ferrara Candy Company regarding Atomic Fireballs candy.
Ferrara products contain only Corn Gluten. As long as Atomic Fireballs continue to be gluten-free, they will be labeled as such. For the most up to date product information, pleae check the packaging before consuming.
WHY DOES MY MOUTH FEEL ON FIRE?
The culprit of that feeling is capsaicin. Capsaicin is a naturally-occurring compound that makes jalapenos and chilis spicy. Each Atomic Fireball contains about 3500 Scoville Heat units. The Scoville scale measures the heat of chili peppers and spicy foods.
In comparison to an Atomic Fireball at 3500 SHU, the Carolina Reaper pepper is the world's hottest pepper with a Scoville Heat unit of 2,200,000 (200 times hotter than a jalepeno pepper). I think the word "reaper" gives it away. via Atomic Fireball and Pepperhead
I LIKE "MOUTH FIRE"- WHAT ARE SOME OTHER GLUTEN-FREE "HOT" CANDY?