Trick or Treat! Are Brach’s Candy Corn Gluten-Free?

gluten-free candy corn

Welcome Autumn, all things pumpkin spice, and food centered holidays! As you're stocking up on candy for the hordes of trick or treaters, you're probably wondering if candy corn is gluten-free. Before you fill your candy bowl with corny goodness, check out the ingredients, manufacturing, and the most important question, "are Brach's candy corn gluten-free?".

Brach's is owned by Ferrara Candy Company located in Illinois. Ferrara owns 39 candy brands including Brach's Candy, Sweetarts, Laffy Taffy, and Baby Ruth. 

When determining if a product is indeed gluten-free, step one is to check the packaging for gluten-free labeling. At the time of this post, Brach's Candy Corn does not have a gluten-free label. 

The next step is to review the ingredients as well as where the product is manufactured. Based on the ingredients and manufacturing, Brach's candy corn is gluten-free as well as their Halloween specialty candy corn. See the details below. 

Note: if you have other food allergies or intolerances, be aware that some Brach's candy corn contains soy, milk, and sesame oil.

Brach's Classic Candy Corn Ingredients

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Confectioner's Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Dextrose, Gelatin, Sesame Oil, Artificial Flavor, Honey, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 3.

Brach's Classic Candy Corn Manufacturing

This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products.

Other Brach's Halloween Specialty Candy Corn

Brach's Harvest Corn
Brach's infused their original Candy Corn flavor with cocoa powder for a rich, chocolaty taste.

Ingredients
Sugar, Corn Syrup, Cocoa Powder, Confectioner's Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Gelatin, Artificial Flavor, Dextrose, Honey, Sesame Oil, Yellow 6, Red 3, Soy Lecithin, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1. Contains Soy

This product was manufactured in a facility where Milk, Eggs, Almonds, Coconut and Peanuts are used in the production of other products.

Autumn Mix
Celebrate Fall with a distinctive, colorful mix of Brach's® Pumpkins, Harvest Corn, and Classic Candy Corn

Ingredients
Sugar, Corn Syrup, Confectioner's Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Cocoa Powder, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Gelatin, Dextrose, Honey, Artificial Flavor, Sesame Oil, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 3, Soy Lecithin, Blue 1, Red 40. Contains Soy

This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, almonds, coconut and peanuts are used in the production of other products.

Brach's S'mores Candy Corn
Flavored with melted marshmallows, graham cracker crust, and milk chocolate. Despite the "graham cracker crust" flavor, Brach's S'mores Candy Corn does not have graham crackers. The graham cracker taste comes from flavoring. 

Ingredients
Sugar, Corn Syrup, Cocoa Powder, Confectioner's Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Dextrose, Artificial and Natural Flavor, Gelatin, Sesame Oil, Honey, Titanium Dioxide [Color], Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Soy Lecithin, Red 3, Yellow 5. Contains Soy

This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, almonds, coconut and peanuts are used in the production of other products.


Brach's Caramel Candy Corn
Classic candy corn paired with rich caramel flavor.

Ingredients

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Calcium Carbonate, Confectioner's Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Caramel Color, Gelatin, Sesame Oil, Honey, Skim Milk, Buttermilk, Titanium Dioxide [Color], Mono and Diglycerides, Whey, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 3, Blue 1. Contains Milk

This product was manufactured in a facility where eggs, almonds, coconut, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products

History of Candy Corn

Candy corn has been around for more than 100 years! 

According to oral history, George Renninger, an employee of the Wunderlee Candy Company, invented the popular confection in the 1880s and Wunderlee became the first to produce the candy.

The Goelitz Candy Company (now Jelly Belly Candy Company) started producing the confection around the turn of the century and still produces the popular Halloween candy today.

Via National Confectioners Association


Fun & Tasty Candy Corn Facts

  • National Candy Corn Day is observed on October 30th each year.
  • More than 17,000 tons of candy corn are produced annually.
  • Candy corn isn't just for Halloween! Enjoy candy corn all year round with green and red Christmas candy corn, Easter pastel candy corn, and Valentine's Day pink and red candy corn.
  • The debate continues on the proper way to eat candy corn. From the top? From the bottom?  

I know I sound like a lecturey mom, but remember that products, manufacturing processes, and ingredients can change at any time. Check those labels and if you're unsure, contact the company for clarification. 

Side note: Sorry, candy corn is not a vegetable.

Tags:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.