Are Brach’s Jelly Beans Gluten-Free? Crazy Easter Candy Confusion

share on:
brachs jelly beans gluten-free ingredients

Brach’s has been making candy for over a century (since 1904). From jelly beans and hard candies to chocolates and candy corn, Brach’s is a sweet leader in the candy industry. But before you fill your Easter baskets, find out “are Brach’s Jelly Beans gluten-free?”.

The ingredients in all of the Brach’s jelly beans listed below do not contain gluten. From an ingredient standpoint, all Brach’s jelly beans are gluten-free.

BRACH'S JELLY BEANS GLUTEN-FREE INGREDIENTS

Brach’s Black Jelly Beans
Brach's Speckled Jelly Bird Easter Eggs
Brach’s Jumbo Jelly Beans
Brach's Classic Jelly Bird Easter Eggs
Brach’s Rainbow Imperials
Brach's Easter Tiny Jelly Bird Eggs (see manufacturing warning)

Brach's Pastel Candy Corn, contains gluten-free ingredients as well.

But ingredients are just one puzzle piece in determining which jelly beans are gluten-free. As you’re reading ingredient labels (sorry to sound lecturey, but always check those labels!), look closely for an Allergen Statement.

Based on U.S. FDA guidelines, companies must alert you if a product may contain one or more of the top 8 allergens (this includes wheat). Companies must also alert you if the product has been manufactured in a facility that contains one or more of the top 8 allergens.

THERE IS AN ALLERGEN STATEMENT ON EVERY BRACH'S JELLY BEAN PACKAGE - WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?

Brach's Black, Speckled Eggs, Jumbo, Classic, and Rainbow Jelly Beans as well as Pastel Candy Corn Allergen Statement: This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, peanuts, and soy are used in the production of other products.

The ingredients in the above Brach’s jelly beans are gluten-free and they are NOT manufactured in a facility that processes wheat, so from an ingredient and manufacturing perspective, these products are gluten-free. Brach's is owned by Ferrara Candy Company (you can contact them here).

BRACH'S TINY JELLY BIRD EGGS HAS A “MANUFACTURED IN A FACILITY THAT PROCESSES WHEAT”, WHAT DO I DO?

Brach's Easter Tiny Jelly Bird Eggs Allergen Statement: This product has manufactured in a facility where wheat, milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, and soy are used in the production of other products.

This means the Brach's Tiny Jelly Bird Eggs have the potential to become cross-contaminated. While the Tiny Jelly Bird Eggs do not contain gluten, they are manufactured in a facility that processes wheat.

Therefore, you'll need to contact the manufacturer for clarification on if the processing lines are cleaned after processing foods that contain wheat, how often they are cleaned, and if the lines are tested for levels of wheat. Obtaining this type of information is not always easy (I’ve spent many hours compiling my gluten-free Easter candy list).

The safest option is to select jelly beans with a gluten-free label. You’ll know those handfuls of beans being consumed for “Easter Breakfast” are 100% gluten-free.

Use this post as a guide, but remember that processing can change at any time, so it is best to check the ingredient labels and contact the manufacturer.

KABOOM! RANDOMLY WEIRD BRACH’S HISTORY

Brach’s played a fiery role in the Batman" sequel, The Dark Knight. The five-story administration building (empty since 2003) became Gotham General Hospital in The Dark Knight. The movie was full of over the top pyrotechnics, including blowing up hospital (Brach’s building). via Chicago Tribune

Getting ready for Easter? Get the lowdown on all Jelly Beans via my 2019 Gluten-Free Jelly Bean List. Find out which jelly beans are gluten-free, which beans may contain wheat, and what jelly beans are labeled gluten-free (the safest route to go!).

Tags:
share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.