Are Burger King Fries Gluten-Free? Sadly Not Made Your Way

share on:
burger and fries on a fast food food tray

Are Burger King Fries Gluten-Free?

No. Burger King fries are fried in a shared fryer along with chicken nuggets, onions rings, and other food items containing gluten (see Burger King's allergen information below).

Burger King Allergen Statement

Via the Burger King website regarding their allergen information:

We recommend that you always consult your doctor for questions regarding your diet as Burger King Corporation, its franchisees and employees, do not assume responsibility for a person’s sensitivity or allergy to food provided in our restaurants. The allergen information is updated regularly.

Please note that normal kitchen operations may involve some shared cooking and preparation areas and utensils, and the possibility exists that your food items may come in contact with other food products, including other allergens.

Products fried in a shared fryer include but may not be limited to: Fish Filet, Pork Sausage, Crispy Chicken Patty, Chicken Nuggets, Original Chicken Patty, Spicy Original Chicken Patty, Hash Browns, French Fries, French Toast Sticks and Onion Rings.

In Hawaii, Portuguese Sausage and Spam are also fried in a shared fryer. Our fryer oil contains: corn, canola, soy and/or cottonseed oils. ct availability and nutritional information for some menu items may vary by location. 


I was a huge fan of Burger King pre-Celiac. After being diagnosed in 2005, I regularly checked to see if Burger King expanded their gluten-free offerings. Unfortunately, their gluten-free menu is extremely limited - mainly drinks. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry when I saw water in their gluten-free beverages. I'll continue to hold out hope that Burger King will take note of the need for gluten-free fast food options and update their menu.

In the meantime, I'll head to the other fast food joints that prepare their fries in a dedicated fryer (random side note: it might be weird, but I love dipping my fries in honey-mustard sauce). No matter what fast food restaurant you visit, ALWAYS (sorry to shout, but it's imperative) ask the manager if their fries are made in a dedicated fryer. It takes a minute or two to double check the food your eating is indeed gluten-free as restaurants can change their food prep procedures at any time. Another thing to remember is the potential for a gluten-filled chicken nugget or fried fish fillet to end up in the dedicated fryer causing cross contamination. Unfortunately, unless the restaurant is 100% gluten-free, it's a risk every time we dine out.

Check out these posts below on grabbing gluten-free fast food.

Are There In-N-Out Gluten-Free Options? What’s Safe to Eat?
In-N-Out Gluten-Free Options The big question does In-N-Out have gluten-free options? Yes! At the time of this post, In-N-Out's french[...]
Are French Fries Gluten-Free? Why You Need to be Cautious!
FOOD FIGHT: ARE YOUR FRENCH FRIES GLUTEN-FREE?Yes. But there's a catch. Fries are made from potatoes. Potatoes are naturally gluten-free.[...]
share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.