Are Cadbury Eggs Gluten-Free? Eggcellent Allergen Info 2019

share on:
cadbury eggs gluten-free ingredients

There was nothing better than finding Cadbury Crème Eggs nestled in my Easter basket. On the outside a milk chocolate “egg” shell and on the inside a gooey creamy fondant “egg yolk”. These are eggs I can totally eat for breakfast! But, are Cadbury Eggs Gluten-Free? Read on for the important details from Cadbury (owned by Hershey).

I quickly realized that attempting to read ingredients on flattened out candy foil was a challenge, so I cross compared the ingredients on the Cadbury foil wrapper to the ingredients on the Cadbury website (ingredients updated March 1, 2019).

All of the ingredients in Cadbury Crème Eggs are gluten-free. Keep reading for details on the facility processes as well as Hershey’s labeling standards.

Cadbury Crème Eggs Milk Chocolate Ingredients (via SmartLabel)

Sugar, Milk, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Milk Fat, Nonfat Milk, Lecithin, Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavor, Sugar, Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Contains 2% or Less of: Artificial Color, Yellow 6, Artificial Flavor, Calcium Chloride, Egg Whites

THE INGREDIENTS ARE GLUTEN-FREE, BUT ARE CADBURY CRÈME EGGS GLUTEN-FREE?

The next step in our journey to chocolate egg goodness is to determine where and how Cadbury Eggs are manufactured. The key question, “Are Cadbury Eggs manufactured in a facility that processes wheat?” Why is this question important? If a product’s ingredients are gluten-free, but other products with wheat are processed in the same location, cross-contamination can occur. This is no bueno.

Hershey’s Allergen Statement is as follows:
Contains Milk
Peanuts Shared Facility
Contains Eggs
Contains Soy
Tree Nuts Shared Facility
Information confirmed for accuracy on 01-Mar-2019.

Woot! Cadbury Crème Eggs do NOT contain gluten and they are NOT processed in a facility that contains wheat.

SO WHY AREN’T CADBURY CRÈME EGGS LABELED GLUTEN-FREE?

At the time of this post, Cadbury Crème Eggs are NOT on the list of Gluten-Free products (see full Gluten-Free Hershey list at the end of this post). This means Cadbury products have not been tested per U.S. FDA guidelines. The choice is ultimately yours on consuming Cadbury eggs. Hershey is very clear on labeling gluten-free Hershey products.

“Hershey is committed to providing products that meet your dietary needs, and many people today are interested in gluten-free foods. A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods, or, if such grain is present, the level of such gluten protein has been reduced to less than 20 parts per million.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.”

ARE CADBURY MINI EGGS GLUTEN-FREE?

Cadbury Mini Eggs fall under the same situation as Cadbury Crème Eggs. Their ingredients do not contain gluten and they are not manufactured in a facility that processes wheat. Cadbury Mini Eggs

Allergen Statement is Contains Milk, Soy, and Yellow #5. Information confirmed for accuracy on 01-Mar-2019.

ARE CADBURY MILK CHOCOLATE MINI CREME EGGS GLUTEN-FREE?

Their ingredients do not contain gluten and they are not manufactured in a facility that processes wheat.

Allergen Statement: Contains Milk, Eggs, and Soy. Peanut and Tree Nut shared facility.
Information confirmed for accuracy on 01-Mar-2019.

ARE CADBURY CARAMEL EGGS GLUTEN-FREE?

Cadbury Caramel Eggs follow in Cadbury Eggs (full size and mini). No gluten ingredients and no wheat present in manufacturing.

Contains Milk, Eggs, Soy. Peanuts and Tree Nuts Shared Facility
Information confirmed for accuracy on 01-Mar-2019.

U.S. GLUTEN-FREE HERSHEY CANDY PRODUCTS (all labeled gluten-free on packaging)

Almond Joy Candy
Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Snack Bars
Dagoba Products
Heath Bars
Hershey’s - Baking Bars
Hershey's and Reese's - Baking Chips
Hershey's Cocoa
Hershey's Kisses
Hershey's Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
Hershey's Nuggets
Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar
Hershey's Milk Duds
Hershey's Special Dark Snack Bars
Hershey's Spreads
Hershey's Syrup
Hershey's and Reese's Toppings
Mounds Bars
PayDay Candy
Reese's
Reese's Spreads
Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies
Scharffen Berger Products
Skor Toffee Bars
York Peppermint Patties

GLUTEN-FREE CANDY NEWS

Want to stay up-to-date on all Gluten-Free Candy? Sign up for my Hold the Gluten newsletter now!

Tags:
share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.