Need to know “are Cool Ranch Doritos Gluten-Free”? Cool Ranch Doritos are gluten-free based upon ingredients. However, Frito-Lay states that Cool Ranch Doritos and 13 other Doritos options are NOT labeled gluten-free due to potential cross-contamination. Find out more about the manufacturing of Doritos and the potential for cross-contamination below. I’ve also put together a tasty list of alternative cool ranch chips that are certified gluten-free and perfect for safe snacking.

Cool Ranch Doritos do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oat ingredients. Sadly, Frito-Lay includes Cool Ranch Doritos in their list of products that “may come into contact with gluten-containing products”. This is because Cool Ranch Doritos may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Frito-Lay states that their manufacturing lines are cleaned between production runs. Unfortunately for us, Cool Ranch Doritos have not been tested for gluten content. The Food and Drug Administration requires companies to test their products to ensure there is 20 parts per million or less of gluten for the product to be labeled gluten-free.

DORITOS GLUTEN-FREE – NOT TESTED

DORITOS Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Blaze Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Dinamita Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Flamin’ Hot Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Flavor Shots Fiery Habanero Triangles
DORITOS Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Poppin’ Jalapeño Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Tapatio Flavored Tortilla Chips

Please note: The information provided pertains only to products made and distributed in the U.S. Products sold in other countries under similar brands may be made using slightly different recipes and ingredients to accommodate local needs and preferences.

HOW DO I KNOW IF AN ALLERGEN IS CONTAINED IN THE INGREDIENTS?

The top 8 allergens – milk, soy, eggs, fish, shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts and wheat – must be noted in an allergen statement found beneath the ingredients on the back of food packaging. Remember that wheat is just one form of gluten, so you will need to read ingredient labels every time to check for barley, oats (non-Purity Protocol oats), and rye. These forms of gluten will not be noted in the allergen declaration.

For example, when researching Gluten-Free Easter candy, I found several chocolates and candies that I assumed were gluten-free due as there was not an allergen declaration for wheat (you know what happens when you assume). Within the ingredients was barley. Barley = gluten and is 100% off-limits.

USE GLUTEN-FREE FOOD LISTS AS A GUIDE, NOT A FINAL ANSWER

Gluten-free food lists are a quick way to determine if a product is gluten-free. Keep in mind that manufacturing processes and ingredients can change, so review that snack bag every time. If you’re still unsure or need more information on allergens and ingredients, contact customer service. When in doubt, skip it – it’s so not worth getting glutened.

DORITOS GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCT THAT HAS BEEN TESTED

There is one DORITOS product that has been verified to be gluten-free (look for a GF label or the words gluten-free on the packaging): Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are gluten-free.

DON’T MISS OUT

I spend way too much time in my grocery and drug stores reading labels. Sign up for my monthly Hold the Gluten newsletter to stay up to date on important gluten-free news.