Are French Fries Gluten-Free? Why You Need to be Cautious!

share on:
gluten-free french fries

FOOD FIGHT: ARE YOUR FRENCH FRIES GLUTEN-FREE?

Yes. But there's a catch. Fries are made from potatoes. Potatoes are naturally gluten-free. So, what's the problem? 99% of fast food joints and restaurants fry these delicious fries with other gluten-filled eats such as chicken fingers, mozzarella sticks, and onion rings. This causes cross-contamination and ultimately glutens your fries.

This is super frustrating when you can't eat something naturally gluten-free. What to do? Always (and I mean always) ask if the fries are cooked in a dedicated fryer. A dedicated fryer is specifically for one food only. The dedicated fryer also maintains the same oil. If your server is unsure whether a dedicated fryer is used (or doesn't know what a dedicated fryer is), ask to speak with the manager. I've had to ask on many occasions if other foodstuffs are fried in with the french fries.

Another hitch is store bought frozen fries. Some of these frozen french fries contain wheat in the ingredients. Whether you're newly diagnosed or have been gluten-free for years, it's essential that you always check the ingredient label. Gluten can be lurking in unexpected places that you'd assume would be gluten-free (Twizzlers, Corn Flakes, Soy Sauce).

MAKE GLUTEN-FREE FRIES AT HOME

Sometimes you need a dose of fried food. After convincing my husband that I wouldn't blow up our kitchen, I bought a small fryer for my daughter and me. So far, we've made butterfly fries, traditional french fries, mozzarella sticks, and onion rings. All tasted amazing and we knew for certain they were 100% gluten-free.

There are a ton of fryers on the market - some more advanced than others. I purchased a Presto Cool Daddy Deep Fryer. It's easy to use, with a food-specific temperature listing (for example fry donuts at 375 degrees and fry shrimp at 340 degrees). The temperature dial allows you to dial in to the specific temp without guesswork.

FAST FOOD GLUTEN-FREE FRIES

There are some food chains that use dedicated fryers for their fries. At the time of this post, Wendy's, Chick-fil-A, Five Guys, and In-N-Out Burger fry in dedicated fryers.

GLUTEN-FREE FROZEN STORE-BOUGHT FRIES

Ore-Ida fries are the go-to gluten-free fries for those with Celiac Disease, gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity. Look for the "gluten-free" wording on Ore-Ida's packaging.

Searching for healthy gluten-free french fries? Check out these options: Kidfresh and Farmwise Veggie Fries, Tots, and Rings.

CAUTION - crispy fries, spicy, or seasoned fries may be coated in wheat.

Manufactures can change product ingredients at any time, so always check those labels! When in doubt, contact the manufacturer.


Want to learn more about living life gluten-free?

Read What is Gluten? Deciphering the Mystery and Meaning of Gluten.

share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.