Crazy Candy Confusion – Are Gummy Worms Gluten-Free?

pile-of-gluten-free-gummy-worms

Nobody likes me,
Everybody hates me,
Guess I'll go eat worms.

Does anyone remember this disturbing children's song?

But more importantly, let's talk about the gluten-free candy conundrum. Much to many people's surprise, gluten isn't just found in the obvious candy such as Kit Kats and Krackel bars. It's common to find gluten lurking in candy that many of us think is gluten-free. Those of us with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity need to check every label, every time. Big fans of gummy candy must keep in mind that gummy-based products may contain wheat as a binder. If you're wondering "are gummy worms gluten-free?", get the lowdown on what is safe and what to avoid at all times. Read on to find out what gummy worms are gluten-free.

What Gummy Worms are Gluten-Free?

When determining if a product is indeed gluten-free, step one is to check the packaging for gluten-free labeling. The next step is to review the ingredients as well as where the product is manufactured. 

Black Forest

Black Forest is owned by Ferrara Candy Company Ferrara owns 39 candy brands including Brach's Candy, Sweetarts, Lemonheads, and Baby Ruth.

Black Forest Classic Gummy Worms
Gluten-Free, Organic, Fat-Free

Black Forest Organic Gummy Worms
Gluten-Free, Organic, Fat-Free

Black Forest Classic Gummy Worms
Gluten-Free, Organic, Fat-Free

Black Forest Organic Gummy Worms
Gluten-Free, Organic, Fat-Free

Albanese Confectionery

Gummy Worms are just one of the many candies made by Albanese Confectionery

From Albanese Customer Service: All of our Gummies that are made in our factory are made in their own separate area making them peanut, tree nut, and gluten free. We have also conducted testing that ensures this product is gluten free and we are compliant with government regulations. The re-sealable Gummi bags have the warning on them because the bag itself is made in a different facility making cross contamination possible. We recognize that everyone’s sensitivity is different, which is why we wanted to provide our consumers with all the information so that way they could make the best decision for themselves.

Albanese Mini Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Sour Mini Neon Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

12 Flavor Mini Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Fall Mini Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Tiny Neon Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Sugar Free Mini Assorted Fruit Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Large Sour Assorted Fruit Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Large Assorted Fruit Gummi Worms
Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Fat-Free, MSG-Free

Target Market Pantry

Target Market Pantry Gummi Worms

Does not contain any of the 8 major allergens
May Contain: Milk, tree nuts, soy, peanuts, eggs

Target Market Pantry Sour Gummi Worms

Does not contain any of the 8 major allergens
May Contain: Milk, tree nuts, soy, peanuts, eggs

Surf Sweets

Surf Sweets is owned by Wholesome Sweet.

Surf Sweets Gummy Worms
Surf Sweets' products are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. Their products are manufactured without wheat and made in a     facility that is free of wheat, making them suitable for people with celiac disease or following a gluten-free diet. (Note: we do random testing on finished product down to 5PPM for gluten and have never had a positive test result.)

Surf Sweets' products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame and sulfites.

Beware! Gummy Worms with Gluten

  • NOT GLUTEN-FREE Trolli Twisted Sour Brite Crawlers (gummy worms)
  • NOT GLUTEN-FREE Trolli Sour Brite Bites: Non-gummy by Trolli

Gummy Worms as Dessert? Bring on the Dirt!

Dirt cups are a popular dessert with kids and adults alike. Who doesn't like pretending to eat dirt and worms? Create your own gluten-free dirt cake with gluten-free faux-Oreos and gluten-free gummy worms.

Check out Kraft's recipe for Dirt Cups here.

Ready to put yourself in a candy coma? Just remember that products, manufacturing processes, and ingredients can change at any time. Check those labels and if you're unsure, contact the company for clarification.

Side note: Will someone PLEASE tell me why Twizzlers contain wheat? It's just mean.

Tags:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.