gluten-free t-shirt shopping page

Hot Tamales are Gluten-Free, Fat-Free, and Kosher! These spicy, chewy candies pack a gluten-free mouth punch. Hot Tamales brand is part of Peeps and Company / Just Born Confectionery.

HOT TAMALES GLUTEN-FREE

Hot Tamales Fierce Cinnamon
Hot Tamales Fire & Ice
Hot Tamales Tropical Heat
Hot Tamales Fierce Cinnamon Juniors
​Hot Tamales Cinnamon Apple

via Hot Tamales website

GLUTEN-FREE LABEL

I have seen the “gluten-free” label on both the front and the back of Hot Tamales packages. See information below on Just Born’s updated package labeling.

RESPONSE FROM JUST BORN TO MY QUESTION “ARE HOT TAMALES GLUTEN-FREE?

Dear Ms. Stanley,
Thank you for your interest in our candy. We strive to be aware and responsive to food allergies, intolerances, and sensitivities and are happy to provide as much information as we can to help consumers make informed decisions about the products they eat.

We offer many gluten free products under the MIKE AND IKE, HOT TAMALES, PEEPS, GOLDENBERG’S PEANUT CHEWS and JUST BORN brands, and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten free statements where appropriate. Because product formulations can change at any time, we encourage consumers to refer to our package labels for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information. All of our candies that we label as gluten free meet the criteria outlined by the FDA for labeling products as gluten free, and do not contain wheat, rye, barley, oats or crossbreeds of these grains in their manufacture. The modified food starch used in our candies is corn starch. Please be aware, however, that because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.

We hope this information is helpful. Should you have additional questions about our products, please contact us toll-free at 1-888-645-3453 between 8:30 am and 5:00 pm Eastern Time Monday through Friday.

Regards,
Allyson
Consumer Relations Team
Just Born Quality Confections

To Wrap it Up:

Tracking down gluten-free chocolates and candy can be like solving Episode 13 of Scooby Doo’s “Which Witch is Which?” Except the witch is gluten. And the witch is probably Mayor Dan wearing a mask. Yes, you’ll find candies containing gluten, but there are a ton of gluten-free options. Just look for a gluten-free label. If there’s not a label or “gluten-free” wording, read those ingredients (google the ingredients if you can’t decipher them), and contact the manufacturer if you’re uncertain if the product is indeed gluten-free.

Always keep in mind that “loose” Hot Tamales and other candies at a candy store (the kind where you use a scoop and fill up a bag that ends up costing $23.49) can end up becoming cross-contaminated or have candies with gluten mixed in.

At the time of this post, Hot Tamales are gluten-free. However, as with any food or personal care products, ingredients can change at any time. Always double check even if it’s a brand you’re familiar with — your body will thank you!


GLUTEN-FREE HOT TAMALES ARE AVAILABLE IN THE FOLLOWING SIZES

Small Box
Small Pouch
Theater Box
Large Theater Box
Peg Bag
Stand Up Bag
Laydown Bag
Bulk Laydown Bag

HOT TAMALES ARE FAMOUS

Hot Tamales have made star TV appearances on The Office, Jeopardy, Howard Stern, Food Network’s ‘Unwrapped’, and FYI’s ‘Food Factory’. via Just Born’s Fun Facts

Sign up for my monthly Hold the Gluten newsletter to stay up to date on everything from gluten-free cereal to gluten-free candy and everything in between. I’ll also keep you in the know about what food and personal care items contain gluten.