Jelly Beans: Are Jelly Belly Gluten-Free? Find Out Now!

share on:
pile of jelly belly gluten-free jelly beans

All flavors of Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten-free! Jelly Belly Candy Company states, "We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch." via Jelly Belly

At the time of this post, all Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten-free, peanut-free, dairy-free, fat-free, OU Kosher, and vegetarian friendly. Krispy Kreme donuts may be totally off limits, but us gluten-free folk can chow down on gluten-free Krispy Kreme Donuts Jelly Beans !

USE CAUTION WITH BULK BIN AND REPACKAGED CANDY

Always read the ingredient label on packages and bulk bins to see if gluten containing ingredients are present. Keep in mind when filling your candy bag from a bulk bin, the candy can become cross-contaminated or candy with gluten can accidentally end up in your bag.

Use caution and double check the labels on Jelly Belly products that are not in their original packaging. If the product is packaged and distributed by another company, it will be noted on the package. It's common for storefront brick and mortar candy shops to repackage, so always ask before you make your purchase.

IMPORTANT: JELLY BELLY PRODUCTS WITH GLUTEN

Jelly Belly makes over 150 different candies and a few of their products use gluten-containing ingredients. At the time of this post, Jelly Belly items that contain gluten are Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Deluxe Mix, Seasonal Malt Balls, Licorice Bridge Mix, and Licorice Pastels. via Jelly Belly FAQs

JELLY BELLY FUN via Jelly Belly and America Comes Alive

The 40th U.S. President had a major sweet tooth! Check out these fun facts about President Reagan's love affair with Jelly Belly jelly beans.

  • Blueberry flavor was created for Ronald Reagan's presidential inauguration in 1981 when over three tons of Jelly Belly beans were consumed during the festivities.
  • After his presidential inauguration, the Reagan White House placed a standing order for 720 bags of beans per month.
  • During the presidency of Ronald Reagan, Jelly Belly beans were served in the Oval Office and on Air Force One. A holder was designed for the plane so the jar of Jelly Belly beans would not spill during turbulence.
  • A portrait of President Ronald Reagan made from 10,000 Jelly Belly beans hangs in the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library in Simi Valley, California.

Wondering what Easter candy is gluten-free? In addition to Jelly Belly, there are quite a few gluten-free jelly beans including Starburst jelly beans, Laffy Taffy jelly beans, and Brach's jelly beans (Brach's Black Jelly Bird Eggs as well). Stay tuned as I research Gluten-Free Easter candy.

Tags:
share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.