Are Just Born Jelly Beans gluten-free? Yes! Just Born jelly beans are gluten-free, fat free, kosher, and produced in the USA. Can I get a whoo hoo?
THE FOLLOWING JUST BORN JELLY BEANS ARE GLUTEN-FREE via Just Born Allergen FAQs
Just Born Assorted Fruits Jelly Beans
Just Born Licorice Flavored Black Jelly Beans
Just Born Spice Jelly Beans
Note: Just Born is in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements (where appropriate). I have not seen a "gluten-free" label on any of the above jelly beans yet.
Just Born owns brands including Peeps, Mike and Ikes, and Hot Tamales. You will see Gluten-Free wording on all three of these brand’s packaging. I seriously love to see a gluten-free label on anything (well, except water, that’s just ridiculous).
ALWAYS WATCH OUT FOR CROSS-CONTAMINATION
Gluten-free candy can become cross-contaminated if it is re-bagged. For example, a candy store purchases Just Born Jelly Beans in bulk and then bags them in their location. While the jelly beans are gluten-free in their original packaging, if another party is handling them, they may become cross-contaminated.
Be cautious of bulk bins. Any candy that customers can scoop on their own creates a major opportunity for cross contamination, or worse yet, for gluten to end up mixed in with your gluten-free candy. The safest bet is to buy gluten-free candy in its original package. You know exactly what you’re getting and have the peace of mind that a random Malted Milk Ball isn’t hiding in your bag.
Even if you know a product is gluten-free, make it a habit to read every single label. It’s always a possibility that ingredients or product processing can change. Protect yourself from being glutened by making sure not only you, but any family members or friends who purchase gluten-free foods or personal care products check ingredients. When in doubt, contact the manufacturer or select another item that is labeled gluten-free.
JUST BORN QUALITY CONFECTIONS ALLERGEN POLICY via the Just Born website
Question: What is your allergen labeling policy?
Answer: “We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA (Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy and Wheat) on our label. Additionally, for the safety of our consumers, it is our policy to voluntarily add “May Contain” statements to our packages to alert consumers to any potential cross contamination risk for any of those top 8 allergens.
We offer many gluten-free products under the Peeps brand and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements where appropriate. The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.
However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information. For further questions, please call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453.”
WHY THE NAME “JUST BORN?”
In 1923, the founder, Sam Born, opened a small candy-making and retail store in Brooklyn, New York, where he marketed the freshness of his daily-made candy with a sign that declared, “Just Born.” Together with Born’s brothers-in-law, Irv and Jack Shaffer, the company thrived in spite of the economic depression of the 1930s and, in 1932, moved its operations to Bethlehem, PA, which is still home to their iconic candy brands. via Just Born’s News & Media
411 ON GLUTEN-FREE JELLY BEANS