Are Laffy Taffy Jelly Beans gluten-free? Yes – Laffy Taffy Jelly Beans are gluten-free according to Katie D. of Consumer Relations at Ferrara Candy Company (Ferrara owns Laffy Taffy). These bite-sized beans in banana, cherry, grape, and apple totally count as a daily fruit serving in my book. Probably not my nutritionist’s book, but shhh, she doesn’t need to know.

I have contacted Ferrara Candy numerous times to confirm if a specific candy is gluten-free. Ferrara’s responses are not only prompt, but extremely clear. In addition to Laffy Taffy, Ferrara owns brands including Brach’sSweeTARTSLemonheads, and other treats to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Response from Ferrara Candy Company

Thank you for contacting Ferrara Candy Company regarding Laffy Taffy Jelly Beans candy. This candy is gluten free. Ferrara products contain only Corn Gluten. Laffy Taffy Jelly Beans contain no wheat, rye, barley or oats.

ARE ALL JELLY BEANS GLUTEN-FREE?

No. Sadly, some jelly beans may contain wheat. Which makes you wonder, why the heck would gluten be an ingredient in jelly beans? Wheat is used as a binder in many foods, including gummy type candies, so always read the product labels.

CAUTION – THESE JELLY BEANS ARE NOT GLUTEN-FREE

TARGET MARKET PANTRY Assorted Flavors Jelly Beans (may contain wheat) via Target website

RUSSELL STOVER Pectin Jelly Beans (may contain wheat) via Russell Stover website

Read my full posts on gluten-free jelly beans and gluten-free Easter candy.

BEWARE OF SERVE YOURSELF BULK BINS AND REBAGGED CANDY

Cross-contamination can easily happen when customers can fill up their own candy bags. Candy scoops can be switched, and gluten-filled candy can end up in the wrong bin. Don’t chance it, purchase your candy in original, sealed packages.

For example, all Jelly Belly jelly beans manufactured in their facility are gluten-free. However, if a Jelly Belly jelly bean product is packaged and distributed by another company, it will be noted on the package as Jelly Belly cannot guarantee the 2nd party manufacturing processes.

Also use caution when buying rebagged candy. While the original candy may be gluten-free, the way the store has bagged the candy may not be gluten-free. If the candies being bagged come into contact with non-gluten-free candy, there’s a good chance you’ll get glutened.

OTHER GLUTEN-FREE CANDY NEWS

Wondering is Laffy Taffy gluten-free (traditional bars)? Find out the fabulously funny details here. Stay up to date on gluten-free (and gluten-containing candy) by signing up for my Hold the Gluten monthly newsletter.

Do you have a favorite Easter candy that MUST be in your basket (and belly)? Share with the Hold the Gluten Community in the comments below!