Are Milk Duds Gluten-Free? What You Need to Know Now!

gluten-free-milk-duds

Milk Duds is owned by The Hershey CompanyIf you've found this page, you're most likely wondering "Are Milk Duds gluten-free?" Based on the "Gluten-Free As Always" package label as well as the ingredients at the time of this article, all Milk Duds varieties are gluten-free. Read on for Milk Duds ingredients, Hershey's / Milk Duds allergen labeling, and why the heck they are called "duds".

Note: The manufacturing information is not on the product label or the Milk Duds website. I've contacted them for clarification. In addition to being gluten-free, if you have other food allergies/intolerances, be aware that Milk Duds contain milk and soy products.

GLUTEN-FREE MILK DUDS INGREDIENTS

Milk Duds
Ingredient Declaration:
​Corn Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oil, Palm Oil, Shea Oil, Sunflower Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Safflower Oil, Dextrose, Nonfat Milk, Reduced Protein Whey, Chocolate, Contains 2% or Less of: Brown Sugar, Mono and Diglyceride, Whey, Baking Soda, Confectioner's Glaze, Salt, Tapioca Dextrin, Lecithin, Vanillin (ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR)

Contains Milk & Soy
View Milk Duds product information here.


MILK DUDS ALLERGEN LABELING

From The Hershey Company website at the time of this post

GLUTEN-FREE
Hershey is committed to providing products that meet your dietary needs, and many people today are interested in gluten-free foods.

A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods, or, if such grain is present, the level of such gluten protein has been reduced to less than 20 parts per million.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

The ingredient statement on each wrapper is the best source for this information. The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network advises consumers to rely on ingredient labels, not lists that can become outdated when products change.

Milk Duds Fun Fact

According to the manufacturer, the word "Milk" in the name refers to the large amount of milk in the product; the use of "dud" came about because the original aim of having a perfectly spherical piece was found to be impossible. Milk Duds were first created in 1926.

WORRIED ABOUT GLUTEN IN CANDY? CHECK OUT THESE POSTS ON WHAT TO AVOID

Crazy Candy Confusion – Are Gummy Worms Gluten-Free?
Nobody likes me,Everybody hates me,Guess I'll go eat worms.Does anyone remember this disturbing children's song?But more importantly, let's talk about[...]
Are SweeTarts Gluten-Free? Beware – Not All of Them!
Those sweet and tart SweeTARTS is owned by Ferrara Candy Company located in Illinois. Ferrara owns 39 candy brands including[...]

What's your favorite gluten-free candy to enjoy? Share with the Hold the Gluten community in the comments below.

Tags:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.