Craving a gluten-free snack and need to know “are Nacho Cheese Doritos Gluten-Free”? Nacho Cheese Doritos are gluten-free based upon ingredients. Sadly, these cheesy triangles of tastiness along with 13 other Doritos options are NOT labeled gluten-free due to potential cross-contamination. When searching for gluten-free foods, it’s vital to check both the ingredients and how the product has been manufactured.

Read more about Doritos potential for cross-contamination below. Don’t despair, I’ve put together some alternative nacho cheese chips that are certified gluten-free and perfect for safe snacking. Bring on the orange fingers!

Nacho Cheese Doritos do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oat ingredients. Sadly, Frito-Lay includes Nacho Cheese Doritos in their list of products that “may come into contact with gluten-containing products”. This is because they may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Frito-Lay states that their manufacturing lines are cleaned between production runs. Unfortunately for us, all of the Doritos options have not been tested for gluten content. The Food and Drug Administration requires companies to test their products to ensure there is 20 parts per million or less of gluten for the product to be labeled gluten-free.

DORITOS GLUTEN-FREE – NOT TESTED

DORITOS Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Blaze Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Dinamita Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Flamin’ Hot Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Flavor Shots Fiery Habanero Triangles
DORITOS Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Poppin’ Jalapeño Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
DORITOS Tapatio Flavored Tortilla Chips

Note: This information pertains only to products made and distributed in the United States. Products sold in other countries under similar brands may be made using slightly different recipes and ingredients to accommodate local needs and preferences.

HOW DO I KNOW IF A FOOD IS GLUTEN-FREE?

The top 8 allergens – milk, soy, eggs, fish, shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts and wheat – must be noted in an allergen statement found beneath the ingredients on the back of food packaging. Keep in mind that wheat is just one form of gluten, so you’ll need to read ingredient labels every time to check for barley, oats (non-Purity Protocol oats), and rye. These forms of gluten will not be noted in the allergen declaration. Yes, I know this sucks big time as label reading takes forever, but the chance of jacking up your villi isn’t worth it.

For example, when researching Gluten-Free Easter candy, I found several chocolates and candies that I assumed were gluten-free as there was not an allergen declaration for wheat. As I strained my eyes to read the full ingredient list, I spotted barley. Barley = gluten and is 100% off-limits. When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I made the mistake of buying a ton of expensive wheat-free foods only to realize I was glutening myself as they contained oats. Do yourself a favor and avoid my mistake (and your bathroom).

THIS DORITOS GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCT HAS BEEN TESTED

There is one Doritos product that has been verified to be gluten-free (look for a GF label or the words gluten-free on the packaging): Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are gluten-free.

MUNCH ON THESE GLUTEN-FREE SNACKS

There are quite a few gluten-free snack options to enjoy! Ruffles chips, Hot Cheetos, and Tostitos all offer gluten-free options. Always be careful at parties where gluten-free snacks can co-mingle with gluten-filled pretzels, snack mixes, and crackers. If possible, ask to have a serving kept on the side just for you (or bring your own bag). Don’t feel embarrassed or awkward – you’re taking care of yourself!

GLUTEN-FREE FOOD LISTS ARE NOT A FINAL ANSWER

While it’s awesome when companies provide gluten-free food lists, ingredients and manufacturing procedures can change. If you’re unsure or need more information on allergens and ingredients, contact customer service. When in doubt, skip it and opt for a certified gluten-free snack – it’s SO not worth getting glutened.