Hands down, PEEPS are the most adorably delicious Easter candy. What’s better than marshmallow and sugar shaped into happy chicks and bunnies? But before you end up in a marshmallow candy coma, find out “Are PEEPS Gluten-Free”? Be very cautious as some PEEPS may contain wheat. Read on for details.

Between peepin’ packages at the CVS (see where I went with that) and speaking with Jocelyn at PEEPS & Company Customer Care, I was able to determine which PEEPS are gluten-free and which may contain wheat.

When contacting PEEPS customer service, you’ll need to ask for the specific item(s) ingredient content and if the PEEPS product is gluten-free. PEEPS customer service does not have one document, they are required to look up each individual product.

GLUTEN-FREE PEEPS – MARKED WITH A GLUTEN-FREE LABEL ON EACH PACKAGE

Blue PEEPS Bunnies
Blue PEEPS Chicks
Chocolate Caramel Swirl Filled Delights PEEPS Chicks
Coconut Delights PEEPS Chicks
Cotton Candy PEEPS Chicks
Decorated Marshmallow PEEPS Eggs
Easter Delights Chocolate Caramel Swirl Dipped PEEPS Chicks
Easter Delights Orange Sherbet Dipped PEEPS Chicks
Easter Delights PEEPS Chocolate Caramel Swirl Dipped Chicks
Fruit Punch PEEPS Chicks
Green PEEPS Chicks
Large White PEEPS Bunny
Lavender PEEPS Chicks
Milk Chocolate Dipped PEEPS Chicks
Milk Chocolate Covered PEEPS Chicks
Pancakes and Syrup PEEPS Chicks
Party Cake PEEPS Chicks
Pink PEEPS Bunnies
Purple PEEPS Chicks
Sour Watermelon PEEPS Chicks
Spring Blue PEEPS Chick Gift Set (with Plush)
Spring Pink PEEPS Bunny Gift Set (with Plush)
Strawberry Delights Dipped PEEPS Chicks
Sugar-Free PEEPS Chicks
Vanilla Delights Dipped PEEPS Chicks
Yellow PEEPS Bunnies
Yellow PEEPS Chicks

CAUTION: PEEPS WITH GLUTEN – PEEPS THAT MAY CONTAIN WHEAT

Bulk PEEPS Chicks and Bunnies (repackaged PEEPS may be cross-contaminated)
Pink Marshmallow Easter Bunny PEEPS Lollipop
Allergen Information: May Contain: Milk, Soy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Egg, and Wheat
PEEPS White Marshmallow Easter Bunny Lollipop
Allergen Information: May Contain: Milk, Soy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Egg, and Wheat
PEEPS Solid Chocolate Bunny
Allergen Information: Contains Milk and Soy. May Contain Peanuts, and Wheat
PEEPS Easter Rainbow Marshmallow Chick Pop
Allergen Information: May Contain Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Milk, Wheat, Soy, Egg, and Coconut

CAUTION: PEEPS WITH GLUTEN – PEEPS PRODUCT THAT CONTAIN WHEAT

PEEPS Breakfast Cereal
Allergen Information: Contains Wheat

WHAT IS PEEPS ALLERGEN LABELING POLICY?

“We label for the top 8 allergens (milk, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, wheat, soy, fish, and shellfish) as well as a potential cross contamination risk for those allergens. Therefore, if there is a risk of cross contamination with one of these allergens, it would be stated on our package, in the form of a “May Contain” statement underneath the ingredient legend. Please always refer to the package for the most up-to-date information, as ingredients and processing methods can change at any time.”

via PEEPS website

WHICH PEEPS ARE GLUTEN-FREE?

“While the majority of our candies are gluten free, some do contain gluten or could be packaged in gluten containing facilities. Where appropriate, we put “Gluten Free” statements on our packages. If you do not have a package currently, or still have questions, please call our Customer Care Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453 (8:30 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. EST M-F).”

via PEEPS website

PEEPS FUN FACTS

In 1953, it took 27 hours to create one PEEPS Marshmallow Chick. Today, thanks to advances in technology, it takes six minutes.

Just Born produces enough PEEPS Brand Marshmallow Candies in one year to circle the earth twice. If you had 8,000 PEEPS Bunnies, and you stood them in a straight vertical line, you could reach the top of the Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower) in Chicago.

via Just Born Who We Are

​GETTING TIPSY WITH PEEPS

Depending on your family situation, Jell-O shots might be a pleasant (necessary?) addition to your Easter menu. Check out PEEPS Jell-O Shots from Delish’s “A Very Boozy Easter for inspiration.

Prepping for your gluten-free Easter holiday? Check out my other Gluten-Free Easter Candy Posts!