Sweet Thing: Are Smarties Gluten-Free? This Candy Won’t Fail!

share on:
smarties gluten-free candy

Get ready to satisfy your sweet tooth as Smarties are gluten-free, peanut-free, and dairy-free! My first memory of Smarties are when I sported my favorite fashion AND food accessory - the candy necklace. There's something so satisfying about nibbling little candy wafers from an elastic string. As I began researching gluten-free candy, I was thrilled to find clear, concise allergen information on the Smarties website.

Below are the details from the Smarties company FAQs on "Are Smarties gluten-free?"

SMARTIES ANSWER: YES! Smarties and our entire line of products are gluten-free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten‑free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease. For more information, please visit our
Gluten-Free section!

via Smarties website

All Smarties candy made by Smarties Candy Company is gluten‑free and safe for people with Celiac Disease. If you are at a loss for classic gluten‑free candy, Smarties products are your delicious solution.


From Smarties: There are some products with the Smarties brand that are not manufactured by Smarties Candy Company. We recommend always checking a product’s ingredients prior to purchase.

We sell our products to different “re‑baggers” as well as various retail outlets. A re‑bagger buys products from many different companies and puts them in their own packaging. Only these re‑baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, or other known allergens.

If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product is gluten‑free, manufactured in a facility that makes exclusively gluten‑free products and safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.

SMARTIES ALLERGEN STATEMENT (at the time of this post)

Smarties and our entire line of products are free from most of the known allergens. All products are free of milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy.

Smarties are gluten‑free and vegan! Smarties products are safe to eat for kids with peanut allergies. All of our candy is made in entirely peanut‑free manufacturing facilities.

via Smarties: Our Story

Smarties Candy Company is owned and operated by three generations of the Dee family. On January 10, 1949, Edward “Eddie” Dee brought his family from England to New Jersey. Equipped with only two machines in a rented facility, he succeeded in founding Ce De Candy, Inc., makers of Smarties, America’s favorite candy wafer roll.


Smarties are known as “Rockets” in Canada. Rockets are gluten-free too! Learn more here on Rockets candy.


While Smarties are gluten-free at the time of this post, it's important to make checking all labels becomes second nature for those of us with Celiac Disease, gluten intolerance, and non-Celiac gluten sensitivity. Ingredients can be altered, manufacturing processes and the way their lines are used/cleaned can also change. Ingredients in specialty holiday candy can vary as well.


Step 1: Review the label.
Step 2: Visit the brand website.
Step 3: Check the FAQs and Allergen/Nutrition information.
Step 4: Contact the brand for up to date clarification on ingredients and processing.
Step 5: Enjoy your gluten-free sweets!

Craving gluten-free chocolate bars and candy? Make sure you visit my other gluten-free candy posts here. What's your fav gluten-free treat? Share with the Hold the Gluten Community in the comments below!

share on:


Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.