gluten-free t-shirt shopping page

Those sweet tart SweeTARTS is owned by Ferrara Candy Company located in Illinois. Ferrara owns 39 candy brands including Brach’s Candy, Laffy Taffy, and Baby Ruth. But enough about that, let’s get to the important question: Are SweeTARTS gluten-free? Not all of them. Read on for SweeTARTS products, ingredients, and which to avoid.

When determining if a product is indeed gluten-free, step one is to check the packaging for gluten-free labeling. At the time of this post, Original SweeTARTS candy does not have a gluten-free label.

The next step is to review the ingredients as well as where the product is manufactured. Based on the ingredients, Original SweeTARTS are gluten-free. However, in addition to the original, SweeTARTS has several products that are NOT gluten-free (see list of non-gluten-free candy below). The manufacturing information is not on the product label or the SweeTARTS website. I’ve contacted them for clarification.

ORIGINAL SWEETARTS INGREDIENTS DO NOT CONTAIN GLUTEN

Original SweeTARTS Ingredients are gluten-free: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, Malic Acid, and Less Than 2% of Calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake.

ORIGINAL SWEETARTS MANUFACTURING

None of the SweeTARTS products have details on where the products were manufactured and if it was manufactured in a facility where wheat is present. I’ve contacted SweeTARTS for clarification. Note that several SweeTARTS products contain wheat, so if they are all manufactured together, there is a potential for cross-contamination. The packaging does include: Distributed by Nestle USA, Inc. Glendale, CA

woman wearing glasses and striped shirt covering mouth

SWEETARTS VARIETIES THAT ARE NOT GLUTEN-FREE

The following SweeTARTS are off-limits as they contain gluten.

  • SweeTARTS Cherry Punch Soft & Chewy Ropes (Wheat)
  • SweeTARTS Tangy Strawberry Soft & Chewy Ropes (Wheat)
  • SweeTARTS Sour Gummies (Wheat)
  • SweeTarts Gummies (Glucose Syrup from Corn or Wheat)
  • SweeTarts Whipped & Tangy Gummies (Glucose Syrup from Corn or Wheat)
  • SweeTarts Soft Bites Gummies (Glucose Syrup from Corn or Wheat)

GET YOUR GLUTEN-FREE T-SHIRTS HERE

SOME GUMMY CANDIES USE WHEAT AS A BINDER

If you love gummy candy, remember that some gummies use wheat as a binder. For example, Haribo Gold Bears and Warheads Sour Twists also contain wheat. As with any product, always check those labels. Remember that candy and chocolate can still contain gluten even if there isn’t a “Contains Wheat” label. Wheat-free does not mean gluten-free.

UNSURE IF YOUR CANDY IS GLUTEN-FREE?

Step 1: Review the label
Step 2: Visit the brand website
Step 3: Check the FAQs and Allergen/Nutrition information
Step 4: Contact the brand for up to date clarification on ingredients and processing
Step 5: Enjoy your gluten-free sweets!