gluten-free t-shirt shopping page

All Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free! Tootsie Rolls are one of the original penny candies – their story started back in 1896. While Tootsie Rolls are no longer one cent, they’re nostalgically delicious all the same. Read on for the fantastic information from Tootsie Roll Industries.

At the time of this post, Tootsie Roll chewy chocolatey candies are gluten-free – so enjoy away!

Tootsie Roll reports “At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.” (via their website)

Gluten-Free Tootsie Rolls are available in eight popular sizes and varieties: Midgees, Mini-Midgees, 5-Cent, 10-Cent, 20-Cent, Giant Bar, Count Good Bag, and Snack Bars.

Tootsie Roll Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Palm Oil, Condensed Skim Milk, Cocoa, Whey, Soy Lecithin, Artificial and Natural Flavors.

FUN FACTS

How many letters has Tootsie Roll received from children counting the number of licks it took them to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop?

Since 1970, Tootsie Roll has received more than 20,000 letters from children around the world who believe they have solved the mystery behind how many licks it takes to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop.

How many Tootsie Rolls are produced a day?

64 million Tootsie Rolls are produced each day.


TIPS ON FINDING GLUTEN-FREE CANDY

Not all candy contains a gluten-free label or text. Even if you think a candy or candy brand is gluten-free, it’s essential to check the label every time. For example, SweeTart has several gluten-free candies. However, SweeTart Ropes and Gummies contain gluten in the form of wheat. Many times, wheat starch or wheat flour is used as a binder in gummy candies, so be on the lookout.

Another red flag to look for is regular size versus minis or holiday shapes. Mini or seasonal candies can contain different ingredients as well, including gluten. When in doubt, contact the manufacturer.

Looking for more information on gluten-free candy? Check out these posts on gluten-free candy – what’s safe and what to avoid.