Are Twix Gluten-Free? Don’t Make This Mistake!

share on:
package of gluten-free twix with red background

The name “TWIX Caramel Cookie Bar” with emphasis on the cookie should give it away, but if you’re still asking the question Are TWIX gluten-free?” the answer is no. TWIX bars are NOT gluten-free.

Every single TWIX bar contains wheat and wheat is not gluten-free. That means none of the Twix bars are gluten-free (TWIX Milk Chocolate, Caramel, Peanut Butter, Dark Chocolate, or White Chocolate). Zero, zip, zilch. I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news. 

So, as Nancy Reagan wisely said, “Just say no”. Although I don’t think Nancy meant TWIX bars, but hey, her statement totally works. Wheat is off limits for those of us with Celiac Disease, gluten intolerance, and non-Celiac gluten sensitivity.

For example, the ingredients on the TWIX Caramel Cookie Bars - Singles 6 Pack state:

TWIX Bar (owned by Mars, Inc) Ingredients via Twix website

Milk Chocolate (sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin, Pgpr, Artificial Flavor), Sugar, Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Palm Oil, Corn Syrup, Skim Milk, Dextrose, Less Than 2% - Salt, Cocoa Powder, Soy Lecithin, Food Starch-Modified, Baking Soda, Artificial Flavor.

IS TWIX ICE CREAM GLUTEN-FREE?

Evil wheat is present in TWIX Ice Cream, so TWIX Ice Cream is NOT gluten-free.

TWIX Ice Cream Ingredients via Twix website

Ice Cream, (Skim Milk, Cream, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Whey, Mono And Diglycerides, Carob Bean Gum, Guar Gum, Milkfat, Annatto Extract (color), Carrageenan, Lactose, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Chocolate), Coating, (Sugar, Coconut Oil, Milk, Lactose, Palm Oil, Chocolate, Cocoa Powder, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor), Caramel, (Corn Syrup, Skim Milk, Sugar, Milkfat, Lactose, Salt, Carrageenan, Chocolate, Artificial Flavor), Cookie Pieces, (Wheat Flour, Palm Oil, Sugar, Canola Oil, Monoglycerides, Maltodextrin, Honey, Sodium Bicarbonate, Soy Lecithin, Cocoa (processed With Alkali), Salt, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Caramel Color)

I REALLY WANT A TWIX, IS THERE A GLUTEN-FREE SUBSTITUTE?

Fire up your oven and whip up a batch of gluten-free TWIX! Two lovely ladies, Nicole from Gluten-Free on a Shoestring and Rachel from Bakerita offer safe alternatives. Check them out here:

Gluten-Free on a Shoestring: Gluten Free TWIX Recipe
Bakerita: Homemade TWIX Bars (Gluten Free, Paleo + Vegan)

It’s important to know what candy contains gluten, so mosey over to my Gluten-Free Candy posts here.

share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.