Are Funyuns Gluten-Free? Yes, based upon ingredients. But, Frito-Lay states that Funyuns are NOT labeled gluten-free due to potential cross-contamination. Where does this mystery gluten come from? Read on for important details. Looking for gluten-free oniony goodness? I have you covered with some homemade gluten-free onion ring recipes.

The good news: Funyuns do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oat ingredients (oats are often commingled with gluten-containing grains). The main ingredient in Funyuns is cornmeal (more about gluten-free cornmeal below).

The not so good news: Frito-Lay includes Funyuns in their list of products that “may come into contact with gluten-containing products”. This is because Funyuns may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten.

FUNYUNS GLUTEN-FREE – NOT TESTED – U.S. PRODUCTS

FUNYUNS Flamin’ Hot Onion Flavored Rings
FUNYUNS Onion Flavored Rings

Frito-Lay confirms their manufacturing lines are cleaned between production runs. Unfortunately, Funyuns have not been tested for gluten content. Food products cannot be labeled as gluten-free unless they have gone through the rigorous testing required by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration under their Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule. This includes testing to ensure 20 parts per million or less of gluten.

FRITO-LAY GLUTEN-FREE STATEMENT

Frito-Lay is impressively transparent in its ingredients and processing procedures. Their Special Dietary Needs guide provides information on multiple requirements including gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free, and more. View their full listing here.

IS CORNMEAL GLUTEN-FREE?

Cornmeal in its natural form is gluten-free. Cornmeal is a coarse flour made from maize, (i.e. corn). Just like corn flour, it’s important to look for labeled gluten-free cornmeal whenever possible, as cross-contact can easily occur during manufacturing. via Beyond Celiac

GLUTEN-FREE ONION RING RECIPES

I seriously love onion rings! Growing up, I regularly consumed Burger King’s delicious rings (and bought a lot of mouthwash). Sadly, Burger King’s onion rings are NOT gluten-free. Save yourself a trip to Burger King as you won’t find a gluten-free Burger King menu, just a crap ton of gluten (pun intended). Since I was diagnosed in 2005, I have yet to find a restaurant with a dedicated fryer that serves gluten-free onion rings. So I decided to make my own. Power to the onion ring eating people!

Check out these GF onion ring recipes including my gluten-free beer battered onion rings, one from Minimalist Baker, and one from The Spruce Eats.

DON’T MISS OUT

I spend way too much time in my grocery and drug stores reading labels. Sign up for my monthly Hold the Gluten newsletter to stay up to date on important gluten-free news. Looking for more gluten-free snacks? Read more about Tostitos, Cheetos, and Doritos now.