gluten-free t-shirt shopping page

If you’re overwhelmed and wondering which Halloween candy is gluten-free, I have you covered with my 2019 Halloween Candy Gluten-Free Guide. The information below is based on the following: actual product label, website allergen declarations, and customer support calls and e-mails.

Be sure to review the gluten-containing Halloween candy at the end of this post. You may be surprised where gluten is lurking in candy brands. I’ll continue to update this list as I verify gluten-free status.

GLUTEN-FREE HALLOWEEN CANDY THAT IS LABELED GLUTEN-FREE ON PACKAGE AND/OR MANUFACTURER WEBSITE

The products listed below are marked with a gluten-free symbol or wording on the package or the manufacturer has listed the product as gluten-free on their website. Products can only be identified as gluten-free if the U.S. FDA regulations for gluten-free food labeling have been satisfied.

A

AIRHEADS (Airheads website)
Airheads Halloween Assorted Mini Bars (labeled gluten-free)

ALBANESE CANDY
Spooktacular Gummi Mix
Fall Mini Gummi Worms
Fall Gummi Pumpkins
Orange Gummi Bears
Green Apple Gummi Bears
Grape Gummi Bears Halloween
Gummi Apple Rings
12 Flavor Gummi Bears
12 Flavor Gummi Bear Cubs

Via Albanese Candy website:
Q: Are your gummies Gluten-Free?
A: Yes, so dig in!

ALMOND JOY
Almond Joy Snack Size (labeled gluten-free)

ANNIE’S ORGANIC (Annie’s website)
Annie’s Bunnies & Bats Fruit Snacks packs (labeled gluten-free)

ATKINSON CANDY COMPANY (Atkinson website)
Atkinson’s Caramel Apple Caramels
Atkinson’s Chick O Stick Ghosts
Atkinson’s Peanut Butter Bar Skeleton Bones
Atkinson’s Peanut Butter Eyeballs
Atkinson’s Pumpkin Spice Caramel
Labeled gluten-free.

Via Atkinson’s website: Gluten Free, Kosher Certified, Vegan-Friendly
Note: Atkinson’s has a wide variety of gluten-free candies. Check out their website for the full listing.

B

BLACK FOREST
Black Forest Organic Halloween Trick or Treat Mix individual packs (labeled gluten-free)

Via the Black Forest website: All of our organic gummies and fruit-flavored snacks are happily Certified Gluten-Free.

BLOW POP (owned by Tootsie)
Blow Pop Creepy Treats
Candy Corn Pops
Caramel Apple Pops

Via website: All Blow Pops are gluten-free and nut-free

BRACH’S
Brach’s Naturally Flavored Candy Corn (labeled gluten-free)

C

CHARLESTON CHEW
Via Tootsie website: All Charleston Chew are gluten-free and nut-free

CHARMS
Charms Candy Carnival (assortment of Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Charms Mini Pops, Sugar Daddy, Charms Pops, Tear Jerker Sour Bubble Gum, and Blow Pop Bubble Gum)
Labeled gluten-free

Check out my full post on Charms Blow Pops Gluten-Free here.

Via the Tootsie website: All Tootsie Roll Industries products are gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, nut-free, and kosher.

CHILD’S PLAY 
(owned by Tootsie Roll Industries)
Child’s Play Variety Bag

Via the Tootsie website: All Tootsie Roll Industries products are gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, nut-free, and kosher.

D

DAGOBA
All Hershey’s Dagoba products are gluten-free via Hershey website.

DOTS
MINI BOXES (labeled gluten-free)

Via the Dots website: All Tootsie Roll Industries products are gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, nut-free, and kosher.

DOUBLE BUBBLE 
(owned by Tootsie Roll Industries)

Via the Double Bubble website: All Tootsie Roll Industries products are gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, nut-free, and kosher.

DUM DUMS

All Dums Dums are gluten-free.

Via the Spangler Candy website: Dum-Dums do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats.

E

ENJOY LIFE
Enjoy Life Halloween Chocolate Minis Dark Chocolate
Enjoy Life Halloween Chocolate Minis Ricemilk
Enjoy Life Holiday Soft Baked Cookies Apple Cider Donut
Enjoy Life Halloween Chocolate Minis Variety Pack

Via the Enjoy Life website: All Enjoy Life products are free–from gluten and 14 common allergens, including the Top 8 in the US and Canada’s twelve priority allergens. All Enjoy Life products are free–from wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, soy, egg, sesame, casein, sulfites, lupin, mustard, fish, shellfish & crustaceans.

F

FLUFFY STUFF
Spider Web Fluffy Stuff (labeled gluten-free)
Scaredy Cat Fluffy Stuff (labeled gluten-free)

​H

HEATH BAR
All Hershey’s Heath Bar products are gluten-free via Hershey website. Read full post Is My Heath Bar Gluten-Free here.

HERSHEY’S
Hershey’s Halloween Monster Kisses (labeled gluten-free)
Hershey’s individual chocolate bars (labeled gluten-free)

HI CHEW
Hi Chew Original Mix Candy (labeled gluten-free)

HOT TAMALES
Hot Tamales (labeled gluten-free)
Hot Tamales Tropical Heat (labeled gluten-free)

For more information on Hot Tamales, check out my post “Are Hot Tamales Gluten-Free?”

J

JELLY BELLY
Jelly Belly Mellocreme Pumpkins

Via Jelly Belly website Jelly Belly Mellocremes are OU Kosher, gluten-free, peanut-free, dairy-free, fat-free, and vegetarian-friendly.
All Jelly Belly Jelly Beans are gluten-free (labeled gluten-free). See my full post on Gluten-Free Jelly Belly Jelly Beans here.

JUNIOR MINTS (owned by Tootsie Roll Industries)
Junior Mints Snack Size
Junior Mints Spooky Mints Theater Box

Via the Tootsie website: All Tootsie Roll Industries products are gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, nut-free, and kosher.

MIKE AND IKE
Mike and Ike Halloween Candy Variety Bag mini boxes (labeled gluten-free)

MILK DUDS
All Hershey’s Milk Duds products are all gluten-free via Hershey website.
Read my full article “Are Milk Duds Gluten-Free? What You Need to Know Now!”

MOUNDS
Mounds Snack Size Candy Bars (labeled gluten-free)

N

NIK L NIP WAX DRINKS – Tootsie website
Labeled Gluten-Free, Nut-Free, Kosher, Peanut-Free

O

OCHO
Ocho Halloween Pouches (labeled gluten-free)

Via the Ocho website: The National Celiac Association certifies all of our products as gluten-free. The NCA certification stamp is displayed on all of our packaging.

P

PAYDAY
Hershey’s Payday Candy products are all gluten-free (including the minis and snack size) via Hershey website.

PEZ
Halloween PEZ Party Bag

Via the Pez website: PEZ Candy is gluten-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, and soy-free.

PIRATE’S BOOTY
Pirate’s Booty Aged White Cheddar Individual Packs (labeled gluten-free)

R

REESE’S (labeled gluten-free)
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Halloween Miniatures
Reese’s Pieces Halloween Snack Size Peanut Butter Cups
Reese’s Halloween Snack Size Peanut Butter Cups with Glow in the Dark Wrappers

ROLOs (labeled gluten-free)
Rolos website

Note: Hershey’s lists all Rolos except Rolos Minis are gluten-free. The minis do not contain gluten, but have not been tested to ensure 20ppm.

S

SAF-T POPS AND SWIRL SAF-T POPS
Via the Spangler Candy website: Saf-T-Pops and Swirl Saf-T-Pops do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats.

SIXLETS (owned by SweetWorks Confections)
Sixlets Chocolately Candies (labeled gluten-free and nut-free)

SMARTIES (labeled gluten-free)
Smarties Halloween Bag Assorted Flavors
Smarties Individual Candy Necklaces

Via Smarties website: If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities, and the allergen information on this page applies to that product.

STARBURST (labeled gluten-free)
Starburst Duos Fun Size Fruit Chews Candy

SURF SWEETS
Surf Sweets Spooky Shapes (labeled gluten-free)
Surf Sweets website

T

TOOTSIE ROLLS (All)

Caramel Apple Pops, Child’s Play Variety Bag

Via the Tootsie website: At this time, all of our confections are gluten-free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products. For more information read my post, “Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten-Free – Check Out the Delicious Answer!”

U

UTZ
Utz Halloween Mini Cheese Ball Treat Bags (labeled gluten-free)

W

WACK-O-WAX (owned by Tootsie)
Wack-O-Wax Lips, Fangs, and Mustaches

Via Tootsie website: All Wack-O-Wax are gluten-free and nut-free

WELCH’S
Welch’s Fruit Snacks (labeled gluten-free)

Via the Welch’s website: While most of Welch’s products are gluten-free, Welch’s Filled Licorice, available in Strawberry and Grape flavors, contains wheat as an ingredient.

Y

YOWIE – Yowie website
Yowie Surprise Inside Chocolate

Via Yowie website: Gluten-Free, Nut-Free, Non-GMO

YORK (labeled gluten-free)
Fall York Peppermint Pattie Halloween Pumpkins Individually Wrapped
York Peppermint Pattie Halloween Snack Size

YUM EARTH (labeled gluten-free)
Yum Earth Halloween Organic Candy Corn
Yum Earth Halloween Organic Fruit Pops
Yum Earth website

woman covering her mouth

WARNING: HALLOWEEN CANDY BAGS CONTAINING GLUTEN OR MAY CONTAIN GLUTEN – DO NOT EAT

Note: In addition to candy that contains gluten, I’ve listed gluten-containing snack bags and Play-Doh as they are regularly handed out as well.

1,000 GRAND
1,000 Grand Bars (contains barley)

AIRHEADS (website)
Airheads Xtremes (Wheat)
Xtremes Bites (Wheat)
Xtremes Sourfuls (Wheat)
Soft Filled Bites (Wheat)

ARCHER FARMS
Archer Farms Candy Corn Crunch Trail Mix (contains wheat)

BRAND CASTLE
Brand Castle Rice Krispie Treat Ghost Pop Kit (contains Malt)

DOVE
Dove Halloween White Chocolate Caramel Apple (contains Oat Flour)

FERRARA (formerly Nestle Crunch)
Ferrara Crunch (contains barley and may contain wheat)

FERRERO ROCHER (website)
All Ferrero Rocher chocolates are NOT gluten-free as they contain wheat flour.

Via Ferrero USA website:
Q: Are Ferrero chocolates gluten free?
A: Ferrero chocolates are not gluten-free.

GHIRARDELLI
If the product contains the allergen wheat it will be clearly noted on the ingredient label. However, per the Ghirardelli websitethey cannot state that that their products are gluten-free as some products do contain wheat. Per Ghirardelli customer service: Ghirardelli will be removing all gluten-containing agents from their brand by the end of 2020.

GODIVA

From the Godiva website:

Godiva currently offers 3 items that are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (A program of the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America):

GODIVA Flourless Chocolate Torte Baking Mix with Dark Chocolate Ganache
GODIVA Raspberry Chocolate Torte Baking Mix with Raspberry Glaze
GODIVA Chocolate Cheesecake (offered at The Cheesecake Factory restaurants around the world)

ALL other Godiva products including our solid chocolate pieces may contain gluten. Any person with a gluten allergy should NOT consume ANY of our products (with the exception of the three certified gluten-free items listed above).

GOETZE’S (Goetze’s website)
Cow Tales (Caramel Minis, Original Caramel Creames, Sour Strawberry)

HARIBO
Haribo Trick or Treat Mix (wheat)
Haribo Halloween Ghostly Gummies (wheat)
Haribo Sour Vampire Bats Assorted (wheat)
For more information, see my post “Are Haribo Gold Bears Gluten-Free?”

HERSHEY’S
Hershey’s Miniatures Krackle Bars (contain malt)
Hershey’s Gold Peanuts & Pretzels (contains wheat)
Hershey’s Halloween Snack Size Cookies ‘n’ Creme Bars Bag (contains wheat)

KINDER JOY (website)
Kinder Joy Halloween Seasonal Chocolate (contains wheat)

KITKAT
(website)
All Kit Kats contain gluten. This includes:
Kit Kat Glow in the Dark Halloween Snack Size
Kit Kat Orange Halloween Snack Size
Kit Kat Halloween Pumpkin Pie Candy
Kit Kat Milk Chocolate Halloween Miniatures
Kit Kat Halloween Blackout Snack Size

LINDT / LINDOR
From the Lindor website: Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that Lindt & Sprüngli produces; either as a cereal ingredient or as a barley component.

M&M’S (website)
M&M’s Creepy Cocoa Crisp (May Contain Wheat)
M&M’s Dark Mint (May Contain Wheat)
M&M’s Mega (May Contain Wheat)
M&M’s Crispy (May Contain Wheat)
M&M’s Pretzel (Wheat)

MILKY WAY
Milky Way Mini Bars (Malted Barley)
Milky Way Original Single (Malted Barley)
Milky Way Original 2 To Go (Malted Barley)
Milky Way Original Fun Size (Malted Barley)
Milky Way Unwrapped Bites Sharing Size (Malted Barley)
View my full post on “Are Milky Way Gluten-Free?” here.

NECCO WAFERS 
(website)
Necco Mighty Malts Malted Milk Balls (Barley Malt)

OREO (website)
All Oreo products are NOT gluten-free including Oreo Boo Halloween Orange Colored Creme Chocolate Sandwich Cookies

PALMER 
(website)

Tricky Treats (Barley)
Mummy Munchies (Barley)
Trick or Treat Mix (Barley)
Monster Munch Mix (Barley)
Pumpkin Patch (Barley)
Goog-ly Eyes (Barley)
Double Crisp (Barley)

From the Palmer website: Our products that do not contain “cookies” or “crisp rice” are gluten-free. However, all our products are manufactured on machinery that also manufactures products with gluten.

PEEPS
Peeps Candy Corn Rice Treat Pop (Barley)
For additional information, see my post “Are Peeps Gluten-Free?”

PLAY-DOH (not candy, but important to know as mini-cans are given out at Halloween)
Play-Doh Halloween Bag (all Play-Doh contains wheat)

Via Play-Doh website: The exact ingredients of Play-Doh compound are proprietary, so we cannot share them with you. We can tell you that it is primarily a mixture of water, salt and flour.

RED VINES (Red Vines website)
Red Vines Family Mix (contains wheat)

RUSSELL STOVER (website)

Russell Stover White Chocolate Candy Corn Pumpkin (may contain wheat)

From the Russell Stover website: Please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that is also used to make our other products. So, we cannot rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free. Please check the ingredient listing and also check the May Contain information on our package.

SWEETARTS
SweeTARTS Ropes (Wheat)
SweeTARTS Cherry Punch Soft & Chewy Ropes (Wheat)
SweeTARTS Tangy Strawberry Soft & Chewy Ropes (Wheat)
SweeTARTS Sour Gummies (From Corn or Wheat)
SweeTARTS Gummies (From Corn or Wheat)
SweeTARTS Whipped & Tangy Gummies (Glucose Syrup from Corn or Wheat)
For more information, check out my post “Are SweeTarts Gluten-Free?”

TAKIS (owned by Barcel USA)
Mini Takis Zombie (may contain wheat)

TROLLI (website)
Trolli Sour Brite Twisted Crawlers (Wheat)
Sour Brite Bites Assorted (Wheat)
Sour Brite Bites Blue Raspberry (Wheat)

TWIX
No Twix Bars are gluten-free as all contain wheat including:
Twix Ghost Halloween Singles
Twix Caramel Halloween Fun Size 
For more details on Twix bars, visit my “Are Twix Bars Gluten-Free?” post.

TWIZZLERS
All Twizzlers contain gluten (wheat) including:
Twizzlers Halloween Snack Size Strawberry Twists

WARHEADS
Warheads Sour Twists (Wheat)
For more information on Warheads, visit my post, “Are Warheads Gluten-Free?”

WERTHER’S
Werther’s Original Halloween Caramel Apple Soft Caramels (contains wheat)

WHOPPERS (website)
All Whoppers are NOT gluten-free (Barley Malt)

WISE
Wise Grab & Snack Mini Bags Barbeque Chips (contain wheat)
Wise Grab & Snack Mini Bags Nacho Cheese (contain wheat)

Please remember that ingredients and manufacturing processes can change at any time. Use this Gluten-Free Halloween list as a guide, however, always check the product label – even if you think it’s gluten-free.

HALLOWEEN CANDY THAT DOES NOT CONTAIN ANY GLUTEN INGREDIENTS BUT IS MADE IN A FACILITY THAT PROCESSES WHEAT

WHAT EXACTLY DOES “MADE IN A FACILITY THAT CONTAINS WHEAT” MEAN?

If you see this notation on your ingredient label, it means that the food you’re thinking of eating has been manufactured in a facility that processes other foods containing wheat. Even though your product does not contain any gluten ingredients, due to wheat being present in the facility, cross-contamination can occur.

HOW CAN I FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THE “MADE IN A FACILITY THAT CONTAINS WHEAT STATEMENT”?

1) Visit the manufacturer’s website and review their Allergen statement.
2) If there is not an allergen statement online or the details are not clear, contact the manufacturer directly.
3) Ask the manufacturer for clarification on if the processing lines are cleaned after processing foods that contain wheat, how often they are cleaned, and if the lines are tested for levels of wheat.

GLUTEN-FREE HALLOWEEN TIPS FOR A SAFE & SUCCESSFUL NIGHT OUT

Check out this post for what to do with the inevitable gluten in your child’s candy bucket, how to navigate class parties, and inspiration for whipping up some gluten-free Halloween treats.

teal pumpkin for food allergy awareness

TEAL PUMPKIN PROJECT

Have you heard about the Teal Pumpkin Project?

The Teal Pumpkin Project was inspired by a local awareness activity run by the Food Allergy Community of East Tennessee. Based on that inspiration, Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) created something truly amazing.

Via the FARE website:

Putting a teal pumpkin on your doorstep means you have non-food treats available, such as glow sticks or small toys. This simple act promotes inclusion for trick-or-treaters with food allergies or other conditions.

  • Provide non-food treats for trick-or-treaters
  • Place a teal pumpkin in front of your home to indicate to passersby that you have non-food treats available
  • Add your home to the Teal Pumpkin Project map
  • Spread the word! Share the Teal Pumpkin Project with your friends and family

What’s your go-to gluten-free Halloween Candy? Share with the Hold the Gluten community in the comments below!