Are Haribo Gold Bears Gluten-Free? Watch Out for Wicked Wheat!

share on:
haribo gummi bears with gluten

No. Haribo Gold Bears are NOT gluten-free. Ingredients in every package of Haribo Gold Bears (including Haribo Sour Gold Bears) include: Glucose Syrup (from Wheat or Corn) and Dextrose (from Wheat or Corn). Due to the potential for wheat, these gummy bears are off limits.

The Haribo website does provide ingredient and allergen information, however you will need to review each specific product. It kind of gets depressing looking at all of those cute, squishy bears and seeing wheat, wheat and more wheat. 

WARNING: OTHER HARIBO GUMMIES THAT CONTAIN GLUTEN

In addition to Haribo Gold Bears, several other types of Haribo gummies contain gluten.

Haribo Twin Snakes
Haribo Starmix
Haribo Ginger Lemon
Haribo Roulette
Haribo Sour Cubes
Haribo Sour Streamers
Haribo Sour S'Ghetti

SEASONAL GUMMIES THAT CONTAIN GLUTEN

Haribo Sour Vampire Bats
Haribo Ghostly Gummies
Haribo Trick or Treat Mix
Haribo Happy Hoppers
Haribo Valentine Exchange
Haribo Goldbears Holiday Edition

HARIBO GUMMIES: GLUTEN-FREE OPTIONS

There are some Haribo gummies that do not contain gluten. At the time of this post, the following do not contain gluten. I contacted Haribo to clarify their manufacturing process and if the lines are cleaned after their gummies with wheat are produced. Below is Haribo's Care Team response: 

Our customers’ safety is our top priority, and we work hard each day to ensure our valued customers have an enjoyable experience with our products. To that end, we test our products for all major allergens.

Specifically, our allergen testing on Gold-Bears and other gummy products that do not contain wheat in the recipe has indicated that levels of wheat are below the minimum threshold that the lab test method can reliably identify.

In addition, our manufacturing facilities use different glucose/dextrose suppliers and some ingredients are derived from wheat, so despite our test of our products having shown no identifiable levels of wheat, we have made a label change to reflect that to ensure consumers’ safety.

Our facility in Turkey uses specifically corn derived ingredients only.

Please note that out of an abundance of caution, we cannot guarantee, therefore we do not certify our products as gluten-free.

Thank you again for your question – we hope this information will help you regarding safe consumption of our products.

Sincerely,
Care Team HARIBO USA

HARIBO CANDY WITHOUT GLUTEN INGREDIENTS

*There is a very good chance for cross-contamination

Haribo Happy Cola
Haribo Peaches
Haribo Berries
Haribo Happy Cherries
Haribo Dinosaurs
Haribo Frogs
Haribo Fruit Salad
Haribo Smurfs
Haribo Rattle Snakes
Haribo Alphabet Letters

SOME GUMMY CANDIES USE WHEAT AS A BINDER

If you love gummy candy, remember that some gummies use wheat as a binder. As with any product, always check those labels. Remember that candy and chocolate can still contain gluten even if there isn't a "Contains Wheat" label. Wheat-free does not mean gluten-free.

Check out these posts for info on other yummy gummy candies and important information on which contain gluten.

share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.