Help This Toffee Craving! Is My Heath Bar Gluten-Free?

share on:
Hershey's Heath bar gluten-free

Wondering if Heath Bars are gluten-free? Yes - ALL Heath Bars are gluten-free (including the Heath Milk Chocolate Toffee Bits). Heath Bars are owned by the Hershey Company and, at the time of this post, are reported as gluten-free. Hershey deserves major recognition for their clear identification of gluten-free candy and chocolate, baking bars, and baking chips.

What's a Heath Bar? It's an English Toffee Bar (toffee and almonds), smothered in milk chocolate. "Get on it like a car bonnet Jeeves and fetch me a Heath Bar!" - said in my best English accent.

WHEN TO USE CAUTION

Heath Bars have been the perfect ice cream topping or shake add-in for a long time. Always remember when enjoying ice cream at your local parlor that ice cream toppings can end up mixed together. This especially holds true to DIY type yogurt and ice cream locations. The Oreo cookies (NOT gluten-free) can end up with chopped Mounds bars (all gluten-free). The safest way to enjoy your Heath Bar topping is to make your own sundae or shake at home. You'll know the ingredients haven't been cross-contaminated.

HEATH BAR INGREDIENTS

Milk Chocolate
Sugar
Cocoa Butter
Chocolate
Nonfat Milk
Milk Fat
Lactose
Salt
Lecithin
Vanillin (ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR)
Sugar
Palm Oil
Dairy Butter
Almonds
Contains 2% or Less of:
Salt
Artificial Flavor
Sunflower Oil
Lecithin

Below is Hershey's detailed description on their gluten-free products, testing, and the best way to determine if your Hershey candy is indeed gluten-free.

HERSHEY GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCT INFORMATION via Hershey

Hershey is committed to providing products that meet your dietary needs, and many people today are interested in gluten-free foods.

A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods, or, if such grain is present, the level of such gluten protein has been reduced to less than 20 parts per million.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).


The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

I hope that other chocolate and candy brands follow in Hershey's footsteps and begin providing easily accessible online lists of candy without gluten. In the meantime, peruse my other posts on Gluten-Free Candy and sign up for my Hold the Gluten newsletter to stay up to date on all things gluten-free.

share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.