Is Hubba Bubba Gluten-Free? Chew On These Tasty Facts Now

share on:
hubba bubba gluten-free gum pink wrapper

Yes – Hubba Bubba is gluten-free gum. Hubba Bubba Bubble Gum does not contain gluten (wheat, barley, rye, or oats). Products with gluten are not used in the facility, in the machinery, or in the actual product itself. However, due to the fact that Hubba Bubba gum has not been tested based upon U.S. FDA guidelines, Hubba Bubba is not labeled as gluten-free. per Ashley of Mars Wrigley Confectionery’s Customer Support.

HUBBA BUBBA GLUTEN-FREE GUM

All of the following Hubba Bubba gum is gluten-free based upon ingredients and manufacturing processes: 

Hubba Bubba Max Outrageous Original GumHubba Bubba Dr. Pepper Cherry GumHubba Bubba Max Strawberry Watermelon GumHubba Bubba Crush Grape GumHubba Bubba Awesome Original Bubble Tape Gum Hubba Bubba Sour Blue Raspberry Bubble Tape GumHubba Bubba Tangy Tropical Bubble Tape GumEaster Gum Bubble Tape Gum (Gluten-Free Easter Candy List)

Did you know? Slather some creamy peanut butter on gum that has missed your mouth and become stuck in your hair to remove it.

DON’T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AS BUDDY THE ELF

Santa to Buddy the Elf: You see gum on the street, leave it there. It’s not candy.

DOES CHEWING GUM REALLY TAKE SEVEN YEARS TO DIGEST?

You’ve most likely heard the old wives’ tale that if you swallow a piece of gum, it will stay in your body for seven years. While you shouldn’t make it a habit of swallowing gum, Michael F. Picco, M.D. sets the record straight. “If you swallow gum, it’s true that your body can’t digest it. But the gum doesn’t stay in your stomach. It moves relatively intact through your digestive system and is excreted in your stool.”

CHEWING GUM WAS ALL THE RAGE IN THE STONE AGE

Chewing gum has been around in one form or another for thousands of years: tooth-marked lumps of birch bark tar have been found in Europe that date back to the Mesolithic period of the Stone Age. Fast forward to present day and 173.41 million Americans chew gum (via U.S. Census Bureau).

WHAT ARE THE INGREDIENTS IN MODERN DAY CHEWING GUM?

Most gums are based on a synthetic equivalent, a rubbery material called polyisobutylene that’s also used in the manufacture of inner tubes. Polyisobutylene is mixed with plasticizers and materials – all food grade – to make the gum mixture chewable. Via Science Focus

LOOKING FOR MORE GLUTEN-FREE GUM AND CANDY?

I have all your sugar cravings covered! Check out my Gluten-Free Candy posts here.

share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.