Is Laffy Taffy Gluten-Free? The Funny Facts

share on:
gluten-free laffy taffy minis

Have you tried laughing while eating taffy? It's a battle of lock jaw. Laffy Taffy puts this to the test with their sweet sticky confection that includes a joke on every wrapper. Before you pop a taffy in your mouth, read on for the details on if Laffy Taffy is gluten-free!

Laffy Taffy candy is part of the Ferrara Candy Company. Ferrara purchased Nestle’s confectionery brands in January 2018 (this included Laffy Taffy). I spoke with Kelsey of Customer Support at Ferrara. Kelsey informed me the following Laffy Taffy products are gluten-free:

Laffy Taffy Sparkle Cherry
Laffy Taffy Ropes
Laffy Taffy Mini Bars
Laffy Taffy Jelly Beans (hello Easter!)
Laffy Taffy Stretchy & Tangy

Kelsey advised me their Customer Service department could be contacted at any time (Monday through Friday). Any product's ingredients can be looked up. Contact information is [email protected] or 1-800-358-1971.

Ferrara purchasing Nestle is an excellent example of why we need to be super diligent at label reading. Companies can be bought and sold, and with that, manufacturing processes and ingredients can change.

As I've been researching my gluten-free candy posts, I continue to learn of candies that contain gluten (and I've been gluten-free since 2005). We can never let our gluten-free guards down!

WHAT ABOUT WHEAT STARCH?

A major culprit in candy confections is wheat starch (especially in gummy candy).

Corn starch is the modified food starch in all of Ferrara's hard candies. Corn and Potato Starch is the modified food starch used in sour gummy products. Wheat starch is not used.

THIS JERSEY GIRL KNOWS HER TAFFY

I'm a Jersey girl through and through and grew up at the Jersey Shore (before Snooki and the gang ruined it). Salt Water Taffy is synonymous to New Jersey. It's actually our state's official candy (I knew there were state birds, but candy?). In 2014, the New Jersey State Assembly approved the bill.

According to local legend, the treat was created after salt water from a storm damaged the taffy supply of Atlantic City candy maker David Bradley, who, at the request of a customer, sold the first salt water taffy and made the accidental creation a household name. Throughout the late 1800s and early 1900s, with the development of shore communities, confectioners Enoch James, Joseph Fralinger, and William Shriver founded the world-famous James Candy Company, Fralinger’s Salt Water Taffy, and Shriver’s. As New Jersey is the home and birthplace of salt water taffy, it serves as an ideal symbol for the official State candy. via the Cape May Herald

NEED A CHUCKLE?

Question: What kind of tea is hard to swallow?
Answer: Reality.

Laffy Taffy tells it like it is! Kind of like when my son was four years old and told me that my hair reminded him of a bird nest.

For more giggles, check out this article from Buzzfeed on Laffy Taffy's puns.

Want to stay up to date on all things gluten-free? Sign up for my Hold the Gluten newsletter!

share on:
Maureen

Maureen

Maureen Stanley was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005. Way back before gluten-free was “mainstream“. Maureen created Hold The Gluten blog and podcast in 2008 as a way to connect members of the gluten-free community across the world.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.