13 Tostitos gluten-free options have been tested per FDA guidelines. In my humble opinion, I believe nachos should be a main food group. And, as you know, gluten-free tortilla chips are the foundation for crafting the perfect plate of nachos. Read on for details on Tostitos gluten-free options, package labeling (I love when it doesn’t take 10 minutes to read an ingredient label), and the low down on tortilla chips that contain gluten.

TOSTITOS GLUTEN-FREE OPTIONS – TESTED TO 20 PMM

Tostitos brand is owned by Frito-Lay. Frito-Lay has validated through analytical testing that the following products contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, the level put forward in the FDA’s Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule.

TOSTITOS Baked Scoops Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Bite Size Rounds Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Cantina Thin & Crispy Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Cantina Traditional Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Lightly Salted Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Original Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Reduced Fat Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Simply Organic Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Simply Organic Scoops Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Simply Organic Yellow Corn Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Scoops! Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Thick & Hearty Rounds Tortilla Chips

Please note: The information provided pertains only to products distributed in the U.S. Products sold in other countries under similar brands may be made using slightly different recipes and ingredients to accommodate local needs and preferences. Always read the ingredient labels.

WHAT DOES FRITO LAY HAVE TO SAY?

Frito-Lay is committed to labeling snacks that are gluten-free. In order to accomplish this goal, we are testing that the products fall within determined gluten levels (less than 20 ppm of gluten, the level put forward by the FDA’s Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule). We are starting to add a “gluten-free” claim to our bags, where appropriate. The claim on packaging can appear in the form of a “GF” icon and/or a statement on the back of the bag, depending on the brand and bag size.

View Frito Lay Special Dietary Needs here.

IS TOSTITOS SALSA GLUTEN-FREE?

While Tostitos Salsa is naturally gluten-free, their salsa products have not been tested per FDA guidelines. All Tostitos salsa options fall into the Gluten-Free – Not Tested list below.

TOSTITOS GLUTEN-FREE INGREDIENTS – NOT TESTED FOR GLUTEN LEVELS

Via Frito-Lay: The Frito-Lay products listed below do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oat ingredients (we include oats in this list as a precaution as oats are often commingled with gluten-containing grains). Please note, however, some of the products listed below may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Although our lines are cleaned between production runs, Frito-Lay has not tested these products for gluten content and the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing. Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration in consuming these products.

TOSTITOS Chipotle Restaurant Style Medium Salsa
TOSTITOS Chunky Salsa – Medium
TOSTITOS Chunky Salsa – Mild
TOSTITOS Creamy Spinach Dip
TOSTITOS Dip-Etizers Cheesy Spinach Dip
TOSTITOS Dip-Etizers Four Cheese Queso
TOSTITOS Dip-Etizers Mexican Style Black Bean Dip
TOSTITOS Fiesta Bean & Cheese Dip
TOSTITOS Football Shaped Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Habanero Hot Chunky Salsa
TOSTITOS Hint of Lime Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Mango Salsa
TOSTITOS Multigrain Scoops Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Nacho Cheese Cup
TOSTITOS Queso Blanco Dip
TOSTITOS Restaurant Style with a Hint of Jalapeño Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Restaurant Style Salsa
TOSTITOS Roasted Garlic Medium Chunky Salsa
TOSTITOS Salsa Con Queso
TOSTITOS Salsa Ranchera Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Scoops Hint of Jalapeno Flavored Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Simply Black Bean Tortilla Chips
TOSTITOS Smooth & Cheesy Dip
TOSTITOS Southwest Cheese & Corn Naturally Flavored Dip
TOSTITOS Splash of Lime Flavored Mild Chunky Salsa

ARE ALL TORTILLA CHIPS GLUTEN-FREE?

Sadly, all tortilla chips are NOT gluten-free, and all tortilla chips are NOT made from corn. Several types contain gluten, so be sure to read the ingredient labels. Stay away from chips that:

  1. Are made of wheat flour, not corn
  2. Are multi-grain and include wheat, barley, oats, rye or other variations of gluten
  3. Are “homemade” using wheat flour tortillas
  4. Have been fried in a non-dedicated fryer along with gluten food items

GLUTEN-FREE NEWS

Sign up for my monthly Hold the Gluten newsletter now to stay up to date on all things gluten-free (and all things off limits).