Gluten-Free Candy

I love sugar. And my dentist loves that I love sugar. But when I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2005, I struggled to decipher which sweets I could indulge in and which would cause very bad things to happen (you know what I’m talking about). Looking to satisfy your sweet tooth? Read on to find how to identify what candy is gluten-free.

GLUTEN-FREE LABELS
Some candy brands have a gluten-free symbol or label (which makes it SO much easier). The FDA requires any food labeled gluten-free to either be inherently gluten-free or test at less than 20ppm of gluten. Brands utilizing a gluten-free declaration include Hershey, Jelly Belly, Peeps, Black Forest, Surf Sweets, and Dum Dums. However, ingredients and manufacturing processes can change at any time, so even if you know your favorite candy is gluten-free, always check the label.

CAUTION: GLUTEN-CONTAINING INGREDIENTS THAT ARE OFF LIMITS
When checking if a candy is gluten-free, always read (and re-read) the labels, look for “gluten-free” text or a gluten-free symbol on the label, check the manufacturer’s website, and contact the manufacturer. Bottom line, you must embrace your inner Sherlock Holmes.

KEEP ON THE LOOKOUT FOR THE FOLLOWING GLUTEN INGREDIENTS

Barley
Barley Flakes
Barley Flour
Barley Malt
Malt Extract
Malted Milk
Malt Syrup
Matzo (can come from wheat, spelt, barley, rye, or oats)
Matzo Meal
Oats (unless they are Purity Protocol Oats)
Oat Bran
Oat Flour
Oat Fiber
Oatmeal
Whole Oats
Rye
Triticale (hybrid of wheat and rye)
Wheat
Glucose Syrup from Wheat
“Contains Wheat” notation
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Spelt
Wheat Bran
Wheat Maltodextrin
Wheat Flour
Wheat Germ
Wheat Starch
Wheat Syrup

OTHER GLUTEN RED FLAGS

There are two important manufacturing statements to look out for when determining what kind of candy is gluten-free.

MADE IN FACILITY SHARED WITH WHEAT

This means even though the candy does not contain gluten ingredients, it may come in contact with gluten due to processing. It may be difficult to obtain information on if the manufacturing lines are cleaned and if the “gluten-free” candy is processed in the same location.

MAY CONTAIN WHEAT

This means despite the candy not containing gluten, wheat may end up in the “gluten-free” candy or chocolate. Protect your gut and avoid candy with this declaration.

Whether you’ve landed on this page while searching for traditional gluten-free candy or gluten-free Easter, Halloween or other specialty holiday candy, check out my Gluten-Free Candy posts to find out what’s safe and what candy to avoid.

03/12/2019 03/12/2019

Are Starburst Jelly Beans Gluten-Free? 2019 Important Details

2019-05-28T20:08:59-05:0003/12/2019|Categories: Gluten-Free Candy|Tags: |

In preparation for Easter, I’ve been reading labels like a mad woman. I’m pretty positive that all eyes are on me at my local CVS since I’ve been regularly showing up with a magnifying glass (those ingredient letters are tiny!). My kids love Starburst, so my latest mission was to find out “Are Starburst Jellybeans gluten-free?” Read on for details!

03/11/2019 03/11/2019

Are Jelly Beans Gluten-Free? The Sweet Truth 2019

2019-05-29T04:53:13-05:0003/11/2019|Categories: Gluten-Free Candy|Tags: |

He’s got gluten-free jelly beans for Tommy/Colored eggs for sister Sue/There’s an orchid for your Mommy/And an Easter bonnet, too. I altered the lyrics to Peter Cottontail just a tad since this post is all about gluten-free jelly beans (and ones that may contain gluten).